How NBA Most Valuable Player (MVP) does work

The MVP is the Most Valuable Player Award, introduced in 1955–56, given annually by the National Basketball Association to honor players for their best performance in the regular season. A ‘League MVP’ refers to the most valuable player in the entire league, similarly “Team MVP” refers to a team’s Most Valuable Player, the player whose team contribution is the most among their teammates. The purpose of the award is to recognize an individual’s effort or contribution to a team effort and to highlight the excellence, exemplary, or excellence of a player’s performance or talent among the performances of all players.

There is a voting panel to select the Most Valuable Player, with each member of the voting panel casting one vote for the first through fifth place selections. Where each first-place vote is worth 10 points, the second-place vote is worth seven, third place vote is worth five, the fourth place is worth three, and the fifth place is worth one. In 2010 a ballot cast by fans through online voting was introduced. The player with the highest points won the prize.

Nikola Jokic was selected in the 2nd round 41st pick by Denver in the 2014 NBA Draft, who is the lowest-drafted player to win the MVP award. Kareem Abdul Jabbar won the honor a record 6 times, becoming the only player to win the prestigious award in the 1975-76 season despite his team not clinching the playoffs. Bill Russell and Michael Jordan were both named MVP five times. Wilt Chamberlain and LeBron James were named MVP four times each. Russell and James are the only players to be named MVP four times in five seasons. Bill Russell, Witt Chamberlain, and Larry Bird were MVPs three years in a row. However, Nikola Jokic, Giannis Antetokounmpo, Stephen Curry, Kevin Durant, LeBron James, Ja Morant, Luka Doncic, and some others have enough chances to earn the MVP in the upcoming season until their retirement. Joel Embiid won the NBA MVP in 2022-23.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *