2021 NBA Playoff Bracket: Current format of NBA Playoffs

NBA Playoff Bracket 2021

The 2021 NBA Playoff bracket is now fully set, postseason games set to begin from May 22 until the NBA finals game 7 on July 22. Here’s are the latest update you can watch.

There will be a total of 20 teams in the NBA playoffs for the 2020-21 season, up from 16 in previous seasons include play-in tournament. Eight teams have clinched the postseason spot from each conference – check out your favorite team’s playoff chances.

Here is how the East conference and West conference brackets shook out, from Round one through NBA championship- stay up to date.

Eastern Conference Semifinals

No. 1 Philadelphia 76ers vs. No. 5 Atlanta Hawks
No. 2 Brooklyn Nets vs. No. 3 Milwaukee Bucks

Western Conference Semifinals

No. 1 Utah Jazz vs. No. 4 LA Clippers
No. 2 Phoenix Suns vs. No. 3 Denver Nuggets

How does the NBA Playoff bracket work?

The 16 team’s playoffs have followed the same format since 2016 with the top eight teams in each conference advancing to the postseason. Here’s a guide that helps you to know how NBA Playoffs formate does work.

In each conference (Eastern and Western), the top eight teams are ranked in order by win-loss record. The team with the best record is seeded No. 1, the next best is No. 2, and so on. Any ties are broken using head-to-head results as the first tiebreaker criteria followed by whether a team won its division.

The seeds are used to create a playoff bracket that determines all of the matchups throughout the entire tournament. In the first round, the top seed, No. 1, faces the No. 8 seed. No. 2 plays No. 7, No. 3 faces No. 6, and No. 4 takes on No. 5.

The higher seeded team always has the home-court advantage. All playoff series are played in a best-of-seven format. The first two games are at the higher-seeded team’s home court and Games 3 and 4 are at the lower-seeded team’s home court. A deciding Game 7 will always be played at the home of the higher seed.

In the second round or conference semifinals, the team that wins the 1-8 matchup plays the winner of the 4-5 series. The 2-7 winner faces the 3-6 and the two teams that win will play each other for the conference championship.

The winners of each of the conference championships then face each other in the NBA Finals. This year, the NBA Finals are scheduled to begin on July 8-22, 2021. The home-court advantage in the NBA Finals goes to the team that recorded the most regular-season wins.

Last season, Los Angeles Lakers faced Miami Heat in the 2020 finals. The Lakers won 52 regular-season games while the Heat won 44 in the 2019-20 season. Lakers earned home-court advantage and went on to win the franchise’s record 17 NBA title taking the series in six games.

You will get a more updated playoff bracket, schedule, standings, and 2020-21 postseason games updated formate will be available here when it will officially be disclosed.

Get more news from here.