What NBA teams will return to the playoffs 2020, latest picture?

2020 NBA Playoffs is going to reopen the 2019-20 postseason tournament which will take place on August 17 and end on October 13, 2020. Originally, the playoffs were scheduled to commence on April 18th; however, due to COVID -19 pandemic, the playoffs were postponed to March 11th, 2020. This occurred after some NBA players tested positive for the virus.

How many NBA teams will return to play and when?

The National Basketball Association Board of Governors, on June 4th they came up with a plan that allowed the season to restart on July 31st, 2020. This proposal was sanctioned by the NBA members on June 5th, 2020. In this plan, the first 22 teams in the league (prior to the league suspension) will play extra eight regular-season games; this will be used in determining playoff seeding. 16 teams from the 22 teams will compete in the postseason tournament. However, when the ninth seed in the conference manages to get through the regular season within four matches of the eighth seed, they will end up competing in play-in series.


Eighth seeding will commence a de facto 1-0 lead; this means only one club will go to the next phase with the ninth seed will need two. The regular playoffs format of the National Basketball Association will have to continue as usual. The 2019-20 rest of the regular season and postseason games will be played at the ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex in Walt Disney World.

Following the regular playoff format of the National Basketball Association, eight clubs that have the most wins in every conference will advance for the playoffs. The seeding process will be based on each team’s performance; additionally, the conference’s brackets have been fixed, meaning there will be no reseeding. The rounds are based on the best-of-seven series. When a team wins four games, the series will end, and the winning team will progress to the next round. The rounds, which include NBA finals, are in the format of 2-2-1-1-1.

[Learn how to bypass NBA League Pass with a VPN]

During the conference playoffs, the home-court advantage will go to the team with the highest seeding, with number one being considered the highest. The seeding process is based on the regular season record of every team within a conference. When two teams have the same records, the standard tiebreaker rule will then be used in that case. However, the conference seeing is ignored for the finals of the NBA. The home-court advantage will be given to the club with a better record on regular seasons; however, if needed, ties will be broken based on the record of head to head, which is then followed by the intra-conference record.

Playoff qualifying

Milwaukee Bucks was the first team to win the playoff spot on February 23rd, 2020. They were then followed by Toronto Raptors, the Los Angeles Lakers, and finally, Boston Celtics before the league were suspended on March 11th, 2020. Some of the teams that clinched playoff after the approval of 22 teams in June include; Miami Heat, Indiana Pacers, Philadelphia 76ers, Los Angeles Clippers, Houston Rockets, Oklahoma City Thunder, Denver Nuggets and Utah Jazz.

TV Coverage

The 2020 NBA playoffs will be aired on TNT, ABC, ESPN, and NBA TV across the United States. TNT, ESPN, and ABC will air the first two round games and also NBA TV will televise some selected games of the first round. The Western Conference finals will televise on TNT and ESPN will air the Eastern Conference finals. ABC TV has the rights for the 2020 NBA Finals. To catch-up, you should consider turning to one of these channels.

Eastern Conference playoff picture

1. Milwaukee Bucks (53-12)
2. Toronto Raptors (46-18)
3. Boston Celtics (43-21)
4. Miami Heat (41-24)
5. Indiana Pacers (39-26)
6. Philadelphia 79ers (39-26)
7. Brooklyn Nets (30-34)
8. Orlando Magic (30-35)
9. Washington Wizards (24-40)
10. Charlotte Hornets (23-42)
11. Chicago Bulls (22-43)

Western Conference playoff picture

1. Los Angeles Lakers (49-14)
2. Los Angeles Clippers (44-20)
3. Denver Nuggets (43-22)
4. Utah Jazz (41-23)
5. Oklahoma City Thunder (40-24)
6. Houston Rockets (40-24)
7. Dallas Mavericks (40-27)
8. Memphis Grizzlies (32-33)
9. Portland Trail Blazers (29-37)
10. New Orleans Pelicans (28-36)
11. Sacramento Kings (28-36)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *